fbpx

Gluteenivabad õlled

Gluteenivabad õlled

Showing the single result

Gluten-free beer is an increasingly important product in the portfolios of many craft breweries. People are becoming more and more aware of their eating habits and there can be many reasons to avoid gluten. Foods containing gluten may cause mild or more severe allergic reactions in some people. Statistics show that about one in 100 people has celiac disease – a severe intolerance to gluten. This diagnosis usually means giving up almost or completely foods containing gluten.
The beer we all know and love is usually mainly made of barley – a gluten-rich cereal. Wheat, which is also widely used in the beer industry, has even more gluten in it. Therefore, most beers are not suitable for people with gluten intolerance. Fortunately, these people do not have to say goodbye to beer, because today there are many solutions for making gluten-free or low-gluten beers.
The first and surest way to make gluten-free beer is to use grains that do not contain gluten such as buckwheat, rice, millet, corn. Beers made from these ingredients are gluten free. Another option is to add an enzyme in the brewing process that breaks down gluten. As more and more people move away from gluten, it is expected that breweries will focus more on brewing gluten free beers.